Planning Commission

The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the City Council on all matters that might be referred to it by the City Council concerning or relating to a comprehensive plan of City building and improvement and recommends to the City Council, from time to time, amendments to the City Charter, ordinances providing for the purchase of sites for City buildings; opening, widening or other changes in streets and other public ways, and the ornamentation of such sites, streets, grounds and other public places; and such other ordinances as it may deem necessary and proper in the premises and that may tend in connection with such comprehensive plan to promote the public health, comfort, safety, convenience, utility and welfare. The Planning Commission is also authorized to confer and advise with other similar City planning commissions or county planning commissions.
Racelle Escolar
This Commission shall meet on the first Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers. Additional meetings may be scheduled as needed. The 2021 rezoning schedule is available as an attachment.
The Commission shall be comprised of nine members who are residents of the City of Phoenix to be appointed by the City Council. Seven members members shall serve for four-year terms unless removed by Council; One member shall be a Chairman or Vice Chairman of a Village Planning Committee and serve for a two-year term, selected on a rotating basis from the several village planning committees; and One member shall be a Board Member of a Neighborhood Association registered with the City and shall serve for a two-year term, selected on a rotating basis from the several registered Neighborhood Associations. The chair and vice-chair will serve one-year terms. The Planning Director shall also serve as an ex officio, non-voting member.


Member Name
Joshua Bednarek
Ryan Boyd
Marcia Busching
Emilio Gaynor
Pete Gorraiz
Carol Hu
Gabriel Jaramillo
Lachele Mangum
Joshua Matthews
Lisa Perez
2024 Rezoning Schedule_REV.pdf